Pattern for “Chunky Braided Scarf”

I’m very excited about all the nice responses my chunky braided scarf recieved in Craftster, so… here’s my attemp at writing a pattern for it. It’s really rudimentary, but the making is a lot easier than what you might guess from just looking at it.

Some people asked me about the kind of yarn I used, well, it’s called Alpandina,  a Peruvian blend of alpaca and acrylic. It’s really really warm, but it’s also quite light-weight, so I had to use five strands held together with size 13 knitting needles.

 OK…. so.. pattern, I hope you can all understand it!!

With 30 stitches,

Do a 2×2 rib for as many rows as you are comfortable with. Remember, this will replace the usual fringe.  I did it for about 20 rows.

Note: I did the ribbing and braiding in the same needles, however, I think I should have done the ribbing with a size smaller. Since the braiding makes the knitting tighter, the rib is a bit too wide for the rest of the scarf, so I would recommend trying it with needles a size smaller. Haven’t tried it yet, but I think it would work better.

After the ribing is done… (all the wrong side rows are purled)

(RS) –>

Row 1: Knit

Row 3: Knit

Row 5: Slip 5 stiches knitwise to cable needle, place in front of work. Knit 5 stitches, then knit 5 stitches on cable needle. Repeat two more times.

Row 7: Knit

Row 9: Knit

Row 11: Knit 5. Slip 5 stitches knitwise to cable needle, place behind work. Knit 5 stitches,  then knit the 5 stitches on cable needle. Repeat 1 more time. Knit remaining 5 stitches.

Repeat pattern as desired. End with a 2×2 rib.

Ok… I couldn’t find the original paper where I had written the cable pattern, but I’m pretty sure this one is really acurate. Please let me know if the pattern is confusing in some form and I’ll try to make it clearer.

Thanks for all the nice comments!

You can see the chunky braided scarf post here: http://www.craftster.org/forum/index.php?topic=176869.0

Published in: on June 16, 2007 at 3:58 pm  Comments (16)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://jimenita.wordpress.com/2007/06/16/pattern-for-chunky-braided-scarf/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This pattern looks great — at first glance, it seems pretty self-explanatory. I love knitting scarves — they’re easy to take along, and are pretty much mindless work while watching TV, kids at practice, etc. I can’t wait for cooler weather to try this. Can’t knit with wool in Oklahoma in the summer!!

  2. Your scarf looks awesome! Thanks for this gorgeous pattern. It’a great stash buster too. I am going to cast on for it as soon as possible!

  3. 5 strands! good grief lol it’s gorgeous, i can’t wait to get my 13’s movin!

  4. Hey, i have a new knit blog and i wanted you to know that i’ve added your scarf here to the to-knit list.
    Keep up the good knits :D

  5. I just started to try knitting this. When you said to cast on 20, did you mean 30? For the rest of the instructions, you need 30 stitches.
    Thanks so much for typing up the pattern for us!

  6. this is a great pattern and a great scarf – i’m really excited to knit it. thanks so much for posting this!

  7. Scarves usually bore me but this is a beautiful pattern and mine is turning out really well. I was just a little confused with the directions for row 11. It took me a while before I figured out that the “repeate 1 more time” was only from the slip 5 stitches on. You might want to add an * to make that more clear…I was starting again from knit 5. I hope that makes sense. I can’t wait to finish this scarf!!

  8. [...] Chunky Cable Scarf is also suitable for labelling by a positive [...]

  9. this scarf was lovely! thanks for sharing the pattern.

  10. I have 3 skeins of Alpandina. 50 gram balls. Can you tell me how many yards are in this skein? Do you have a sweater pattern for 3 skeins? My granddaughter bought the yarn in Peru and they told her 3 skeins would make a sweater. Any help would be appreciated.

  11. I made amistake, the balls are l00 grams each. The alpandina is such a beautiful yarn. I can’t wait to work it up.

  12. [...] And, so you know that I don’t only knit hats these days…a scarf! [...]

  13. I have three skeins, l00 gr. each and need to know how many yards are in each skein. When my granddaughter bought it in Peru they told her 3 skeins would make a sweater. I don’t have a pattern that will do that. Do you have any suggestions and the yardage amount? Thankyou C. Morger

  14. Hi!

    Your scarf looks gorgeous! ^_^ I was looking for the yarn online and I can’t find it anywhere. Where did you get yours?

  15. I haven’t gotten too far on this lovely scarf yet, but I have some questions that might resolve themselves:

    Is row 4 a purl row?

    Is row 6 a repeat of Row 5 or a knit (or purl) row?

  16. Make love, not war!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

